Wyoming’s Top Football Scholar-Athlete, Other Finalists Honored

Sports News March 18, 2019



Wyoming’s Top Football Scholar-Athlete, Other Finalists Honored

LARAMIE, WY. – The Wyoming Chapter National Football Foundation’s 2018 High School Scholar-Athlete of the Year is Kade VanDyken of Big Horn High School. Ranked second in a class of 34, VanDyken has a GPA of 3.975 and an ACT composite score of 29. Over the course of his football career for the Rams, he accounted for 19 touchdowns and he caught 87 receptions for 1,340 yards and 20 touchdowns.

A total of 15 finalists emerged from 127 nominations from 34 high schools and the University of Wyoming. A total of $19,200 in scholarships was awarded Saturday evening at the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center at the University of Wyoming. In the first 25 years of the Wyoming Chapter, a total of $369,150 in scholarships has been awarded. Each finalist Saturday was awarded a $1,200 scholarship and VanDyken received an additional $1,200 scholarship as the state’s top scholar-athlete.

Guest speakers were past Wyoming and West Regional Scholar-Athletes Justin Hopkin from Burlington in 1995 and Gavin Mills from Powell in 2008. Keynote speaker was Ron Dilatush, the membership chair of the National Football Foundation in Dallas, TX.

The Finalists honored on Saturday night were:

Courage Award: Wes Eyre – Lyman High School

Perseverance Award: Roberto Hernandez – St. Stephens High School

Perseverance Award: Kolby Pisciotti – Newcastle High School

6-Man: Lain Mitchelson – Farson-Eden High School

6-Man: Clancy Gines – Farson- Eden High School

1A Lineman: Hunter Jeffres – Pine Bluffs High School

1A Back: Kade VanDyken – Big Horn High School

2A Lineman: Clayton Iacovetto – Wheatland High School

2A Back: Luke Glassock – Buffalo High School

3A Lineman: Conrad Swenson – Lander Valley High School

3A Back: Treyton Paxton – Riverton High School

4A Lineman: Jordan Bertagnole – Casper Natrona High School

4A Back: Parker Christensen – Sheridan High School

UW Cowboys – Adam Pilapil

UW Cowboys – Nico Evans

Special Award Recipients:

Greatest UW Football Fan: Roy C. Miller of Laramie/Cheyenne

Greatest High School Football Fan: Deb Jacobs of Powell

Greatest High School Football Fan: Doug Potter of Green River

Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football: Pete and Linda Haman of Douglas

Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football: Eric Worden of Laramie

Ox Zellner Football Official Career Achievement: Bryon Mowry of Casper

Coaching Career Achievement: Bill Pentland of Wheatland

Coaching Career Achievement: Donnie Stewart of Glenrock

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.