WY Congressional Award Participants Receive Gold Medals in D.C.

Wyoming News July 11, 2018



WY Congressional Award Participants Receive Gold Medals in D.C.

Cheyenne, WY.   –   The state of Wyoming was well-represented at this year’s Congressional Award Gold Medal Ceremony in Washington, D.C. on June 21, 2018. Last month, members of the United States Senate and House of Representatives honored 442 youth across 41 states at the 2018 Congressional Award Gold Medal Ceremony including 42 who traveled from Wyoming. Recipients of The Congressional Award Gold Medal earned the highest honor Congress bestows upon America’s youth.

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ award for young Americans.  It is non-partisan, voluntary, and non-competitive.  The program is open to all 13 1/2 to 23 year-olds.  Participants earn Bronze, Silver and Gold Congressional Award Medals. For a minimum of two years, each Gold Medalist logged hundreds of hours across four program areas: Voluntary Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

The 2018 Gold Medal class was the largest in the national program’s 39-year history, representing an unprecedented year of servant leadership. This year’s class contributed 371,280 service hours to communities near and far, an average of 840 hours per medalist.

This special recognition event took place in the historic Kennedy Caucus Room of the Russell Senate Office Building, located on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C.
Wyoming medalists included the following who met with and received their Gold Medal from all three members of Wyoming’s Congressional Delegation (Senator Mike Enzi, Senator John Barrasso, M.D., and Representative Liz Cheney).

Emily Applegate, Casper
Riley Box, Casper
Santana Gould, Casper
Dawson Poste, Casper
Kiara Sims, Casper
T. Laine Smith, Casper

Alexander Allison, Cheyenne
Gunner Bartlett, Cheyenne
Gabriella Dodgson, Cheyenne
Adrienne Duda, Cheyenne
Connor Gililland, Cheyenne
Elizabeth Kassel, Cheyenne
Ginger McCormick, Cheyenne
Aurora Noe, Cheyenne
Brayden Parker, Cheyenne
Alexandria Rinne, Cheyenne
Lindsey Ruiz, Cheyenne
Sierra Sinclair, Cheyenne
Avalon Skinner, Cheyenne
Stephani Sommer, Cheyenne
Meigan Starr, Cheyenne
Kesslee Stewart, Cheyenne
Sarah Sutton, Cheyenne
Faith Wright, Cheyenne

Bradley Zimmerman, Hillsdale
Mikayla Zimmerman, Hillsdale

Micaiah Pantle, Encampment
Noelle Peterson, Encampment

Other recipients of the 2018 Wyoming Congressional Award Gold Medals that were not present at the Washington, D.C. ceremony include:

Alex Aguirre, Powell
Shelby Albright, Cheyenne
Tayten Barhaug, Powell
Danielle DiJohn, Cheyenne
Mary Harris, Green River
SayDree Hendricks, Laramie
Sydney Horton, Otto
Ciara Johnson, Laramie
Logan Jones, Rock Springs
Sydney Martin, Cheyenne
Seth Meyer, Casper
Elliott Miller, Cheyenne
Evan Naughton, Laramie
Aedian O’Connor, Laramie
Samantha Patterson, Cheyenne
Rylee Ramsey, Powell
Noah Riffee, Laramie
Alexandria Rinne, Cheyenne
Brooklynn Salo, Laramie
Delaney Schmidt, Cheyenne
Lauren Tyson, Casper
James Whiting, Lander

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.